The awesomeness of fava

Here in Holland I found a new love – fava beans, otherwise known as broad beans. Never had them before, but here they sell them a lot, and I got mine at my favourite Turkish shop where you can get legumes in bulk for great prices.

You can buy them in Chinatown as a fried snack, but honestly, that didn´t impress me – I want to try and fry my own batch one day.

What I really loved though was making bessara out of them – that is supposedly a Moroccan dish. You need:

1 1/2 cup of cooked fava beans (don´t forget to soak them overnight and then cook for about an hour or more, and most of all, don´t forget to PEEL them before cooking…I didn´t know that…luckily in this dish it is not SO important if your blender is strong enough…)

1/3 cup of olive oil (I´d use a bit less next time)

1 1/2 tsp salt

juice from half a lemon (I´d use less next time if you don´t want your dish too sour)

1 tsp sweet paprika powder

1/2 tsp chilli powder (I used piri-piri)

a few cloves of garlic

1 tsp ground cumin

Mix all in a blender (you probably will need to add quite some water). The bessara should be liquid enough to pour out of the blender into a bowl. It is usually eaten warm, so I transferred it into a pot and heated up. I don´t eat bread normally, so I spread mine on rice cakes, but I can imagine it would be great with a pita bread or something similar…

Unfortunately, no picture 😦

1 Comment

Filed under Bean dishes, Recipes

One response to “The awesomeness of fava

  1. I love fava beans. When I eat them, I like to think that, together with chickpeas and lentils, they are among the very few kinds of legumes that are native to Europe/Middle East, rather than America.
    What you call “bessara” was known to me with its Levantine name of “ful medammes” (Wikipedia has an article about it). It’s basically the same. I experimented with it adding some liquid white tahini, it makes the taste vaguely closer to hoummus, still with another texture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

