Fake tomato sauce with pasta! :-)

I reeeeally like tomato sauce, Italian style, on my pasta. Well, since tomatoes are nightshades, and thus far on the yin scale, they are rarely used in macrobiotic cooking. So I reached for a recipe into my favourite recipe book by Susan Marque (I believe you can still buy them, paperback or download, from Susan´s website!). The only thing I didn´t have (and still don´t have, damn it!) is thyme. Otherwise I used:

7 large carrots (yep, that´s a lot, this recipe is for about 3-4 portions of sauce for people who like a lot of sauce…)

1 small beet peeled

2 onions

4 cloves or garlic

1 celery stalk

1 bay leaf

about 2 cups water

oregano

basil

thyme

1/4 cup parsley (I had just dried one)

olive oil

salt

I chopped up the carrots, beet, celery and one of the onions into big chunks and cooked them with 2 cups of water, salt and the bay leaf for about 20 minutes until all got soft. Then transferred to a blender and pureed until smooth. Meanwhile I sauteed diced onion, diced garlic and all the spices on some olive oil. Then  I poured the blended vegetables into the pan with the onion, garlic and spices. The sauce has a beautiful red-purplish colour which really in a way resembles tomato sauce! But don´t be fooled, the texture is different and this sauce is much sweeter because of the carrots and beets. I also really liked the sauce mixed in quinoa the other day!

1 Comment

Filed under Complete meals, Pasta and noodles, Recipes, Sauces, Vegetable dishes

One response to “Fake tomato sauce with pasta! :-)

  1. Pingback: Semi-macrobiotic pizza :-D | Macrobiotic magic in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

