Coconut rice bliss

This is one of the best desserts I ever created…And again, it´s VERY easy 😀 I must warn you though that it´s NOT a healthy treat, although you could call it “kinda macrobiotic”. You don´t eat this stuff to get healthy. And I shouldn´t be eating it either as I´m still recovering from all sorts of issues, but…since tomorrow I am starting a ten-day rice fast, I am now indulging in some food which will soon be out of the question (as I am quite sure that after the rice fast itself I will want to maintain the results and thus continue eating in a more healing manner before I´m sure I can afford some more rich foods).

Anyway, here goes the recipe… I cooked one cup of white dessert rice (any white rice will do I suppose, but this one is sold specifically for rice puddings and similar fare) in three cups of water, together with a handful of raisins, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of ground cardamom, a pinch of salt, about 100 g of coconut cream (the layer which is on top of coconut milk, I purchased the cream in an asian shop, in a solid form wrapped in plastic) and a couple of tablespoons of maple syrup, to your liking. Cook for 30-45 minutes on a low flame with a flame tamer, if you have one. I had to stir my rice occasionally because it started sticking to the bottom, probably because of all the extra goodies in it 😀 You can serve the pudding warm (better I think) or cold and you can top it with chopped roasted hazelnuts or any other nuts…

Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

