Yuba tempura in sweet-salty-sour glaze

This meal was rated as one of my best creations by my (picky and not so macro) boyfriend. so you better watch out for this gem!

I attempted making dishes out of yuba already twice before making this one, but it was always a big failure, mostly because I didn´t know that the dried yuba (“skin” or layer on top of tofu during the tofu production) has to be soaked really long and thoroughly to soften up. This time I played safe and soaked it all night long in a large bowl of water, pressed down by a small plate so that none of the yuba sticks out of the water 😀 It became really soft and flexible!

Then I proceeded to cover it in tempura batter (in my case glutenfree batter of white rice flour and water mixed until you get a somewhat runny but not too thin consistency) and deep-fry it until golden. Meanwhile in a saucepan I heated up slowly 1 tbsp of tamari, 1 tbsp of mirin, 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice and 1/2 tbsp of maple syrup with some water (so that the liquid is about 2 cm high). I transferred the pieces of yuba into the liquid, stirred to coat well and simmered until all the liquid evaporated and created a glaze looking like caramel. Be careful not to burn the sauce. Yuba prepared this way tastes nothing like “tofu skin”, it´s actually pretty good as a poultry substitute I´d even say, and it is used that way in oriental cuisine.

I served the tempura with brown rice and steamed veggies.

2 Comments

Filed under Bean dishes, Complete meals, Recipes, Tofu and tempeh dishes

2 responses to “Yuba tempura in sweet-salty-sour glaze

  1. Pingback: Glazed yuba again – this time with soba noodles | Macrobiotic magic in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

