Rice casserole with smoked tofu and veggies

I know that the cold part of the year is already behind us and spring is in full blossom, but anyway – I really enjoy making oven-baked dishes, especially for dinner. I think it has to do with my need of variety of food preparation, and baking is just one of many methods. Be sure to always use some light uplifting steamed or blanched veggies, or something raw with these dishes ­čśÇ

I had leftover rice+hato mugi mixture which I put in an  even layer on the bottom of my silicone baking pan. Then I made the next layer with long-sauteed caramelized red onions (just sautee on water+pinch of salt, at least 15 minutes), another layer of grated smoked tofu and a layer of grated raw young carrot. Then came the second part of the grain mixture and on the very top some sauteed onion mixed into the grated tofu. Bake in a preheated oven on about 200°C until the top gets crusty and golden.

I served the dish with olives, fresh rucola, red radishes and portulac, and some homemade carrot pickles.

Leave a comment

Filed under Complete meals, Grain dishes, Recipes, Tofu and tempeh dishes

Leave a Reply

