Angela´s Cinnamon sweet potato chickpea salad with Miso rice

The last few days I´m testing (and adjusting) some recipes from Angela from Oh she glows – the first one to try was Cinnamon sweet potato chickpea salad. I made it more macro-friendly by substituting the coconut oil with sesame oil and only using a tiny bit of it – from a spray.

First I chopped up one medium sized sweet potato into cubes, diced a small onion and mixed these two ingredients in a bowl with about a cup of cooked chickpeas, 1/2 tsp sea salt, 1/2 tsp  cinnamon and a sprinkle of sesame oil. I placed the mixture on a baking tray lined with a silicone baking mat and baked it in a preheated oven on 220 °C for about 40 minutes. Unfortunately, the temperature was too high or the time too long (or I used too little oil), because it came out a bit burnt (especially the onions) and too dry – next time I will need to watch it closer! 😀 Nevertheless, it was a really yummy recipe!

I served the “salad” with pressure cooked brown rice which I cooked in water with diluted brown rice miso (about 1 cup grain to 1 1/2 cup water, and using 2 tsp of miso). I wonder if anybody before had the crazy idea of cooking rice in miso broth, but it tastes surprisingly like risotto 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Bean dishes, Complete meals, Grain dishes, Recipes

Leave a Reply

