Angela´s vegan sweet potato and pear holiday soup

This is the last recipe from Angela´s blog that I am featuring for now, and I dare say it is the yummiest of them all! You can find the original recipe here. Again, I made some minor tweaks. I also halved the recipe in most ingredients, so I used:

1/2 tbsp olive oil (instead of margarine)

1 small onion, diced

about 1/4 cup chopped carrot

about 1/4 cup chopped celery stalk

1 medium sized sweet potato, chopped

1 pear, chopped

1/4 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp paprika powder

2 1/2 cups of water (instead of broth)

1/4 cup spelt cream from Lima (instead of coconut milk)

1 tsp rice malt (instead of maple syrup)

1 tsp or more of lemon juice (instead of lime juice)

salt to taste

 

In a pot I heated 1/2 tbsp of oil and first sauteed onion, carrot and celery, then I added sweet potato, pear and thyme and sauteed for a few minutes more, on medium to low fire. Then I added the paprika powder and water, brought the soup to boil and simmered for about 15 minutes until the sweet potato softened up. I blended the soup in a blender (dividing it into 2 batches – important, otherwise the blender might explode!). I returned the soup to the pot and added spelt cream (you could use any grain-based or soy cream), lemon juice, rice malt and salt (it needs quite some salt, otherwise it will turn out too sweet). Simmer a bit more. Soooo soothing and relaxing!!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes, Soups

One response to “Angela´s vegan sweet potato and pear holiday soup

  1. mmmmm…. I am picturing my self all wrapped up and cosy sipping this soup. Sounds delicious ..thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

