Corn chowder

 

This is a slightly adapted recipe from Jessica Porter´s Hip Chick´s Guide to Macrobiotics (see “Corn Chowdah”). I also made the soup for myself only so I cut down the amounts. It was surprisingly tasty!

Into one pot I placed 2 soup bowls of water together with a post-stamp sized piece of kombu, brought it to boil and simmered for 15 minutes. In another pot I sauteed a small onion and a piece of leek on some olive oil, with a pinch of salt. When the onion became translucent I added a piece of chopped up carrot and sauteed for 3 minutes, after which I added a couple of spoons of corn kernels from a jar and sauteed just one minute more.  You may want to add more salt in the process. Then comes the main step: I sprinkled the veggies with 2 tbsp of cornmeal (I actually used polenta which is basically the same) and stirred for a while until the veggies got evenly coated and the cornmeal turned more golden. Then I carefully poured in the kombu stock (you can discard the kombu or cut it up finely and add it to the soup), stirring to prevent lumps. I gently simmered the soup for 30 minutes on a low flame and on a flame deflector. It sounds long, but the longer you cook it, the more creamy it becomes, so it´s worth it! At the end I added a teaspoon of diluted shiro (white) miso, simmered for a few minutes and then served the soup with a garnish of red basil.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Soups

Leave a Reply

