Savoury zucchini pancakes

I grew up often eating the traditional Czech savoury potato pancakes – these come pretty close without using potatoes, white flour or eggs that belong to the original recipe! ­čśÇ

Just grate a few small zucchinis (I used two for the two of us) on a coarse grater, sprinkle with about half a teaspoon of salt, add seasonings to taste (I chose 1/2 tsp ground coriander, 1/2 tsp ground cumin and one pressed garlic clove) and enough water and arrowroot starch to make a slightly runny pancake type dough. Amount of water depends on how much your zucchinis release water, I needed to add just a tiny bit. Heat oil on a frying pan and fry until golden on both sides. The pancakes had a really nice taste, but next time I might choose a flour instead of starch (I chose arrowroot because I am avoiding flours due to candida). The starch turned out to be a bit too sticky in the texture :-p

My pancakes went with amaranth sprinkled with nori flakes, some fresh rucola leaves and steamed brussel sprouts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Complete meals, Recipes, Vegetable dishes

Leave a Reply

