Macrobiotic stamppot

Stamppot is THE most traditional Dutch meal of all time and so you can imagine my mostly-macro Dutch boyfriend misses it at times ­čśÇ I promised him that I will try to make a macro stamppot one day – without the potatoes and fatty bacon bits! Finally I got to this experiment a few days ago and we were both pleasantly surprised, my boyfriend even admitted that it does resemble real stamppot (I suppose with a bit of imagination, like always! :-D). Well, try out for yourself…

Start with a classical macro “mashed potato” recipe, that is by cooking millet and cauliflower in a pot with a 1 to 3 grain to water ratio and a pinch of salt, until soft, then mash until smooth with a potato masher or surikogi (wooden pestle) or anything that will do…

Then…add more salt and spices of your preference (I added black pepper powder and ground nutmeg) and mix in a LOT (trust me…it has to be quite green in the end) of leafy greens, I had some beautiful swiss chard from the farmer┬┤s market. You might need to blanche or steam your greens very lightly before mixing them in, but the chard was fine when mixed through the very hot grain. Stir very long until all the greens get soft and well incorporated in the mess mass.

Top with long cooked caramelized onions (I even added a bit of brown rice flour to mine to create a more gravy-like effect).

 

2 Comments

Filed under Complete meals, Grain dishes, Recipes

2 responses to “Macrobiotic stamppot

  1. Kirsten

    Like a real Dutchman we have eaten a lot of stamppot in our lives. We tried your recipe the other day and we really liked it! It exceeded my friends expectation ­čÖé I’m sure gonna try more of your recipes!

Leave a Reply

