Cumin flavoured seitan and glazed sweet and sour beets

I just love how the colours combine in this dish, so elegant! And the seitan tempura is rich enough to satisfy even those who think macrobiotics is a very bland tasteless diet.

For the tempura I covered the seitan chunks in a batter made of wholewheat flour mixed 50:50 with organic white flour, water, a pinch of salt, a pinch of aluminum-free baking powder (adds extra crunch) and the secret ingredient – cumin powder. Add as much as you think is suitable for your condition and tastebuds 😀 The more you add, the more tasty the seitan will be, of course, but don´t go overboard. The batter should not be runny so that it doesn´t slide off. Deep-fry each piece in hot oil and place on napkinks to soak excess oil.

For the glazed beets cook sliced beet (or bite-sized chunks) slowly in a small pot on a low flame with water to barely cover and a good pinch of salt. Towards the end season with mirin (rice cooking wine), ume plum vinegar and rice vinegar, the beets should be a bit more tart than sweet. Mix a spoon of kuzu starch in a bit of cold water and add at the very end, while stirring to prevent lumps, be sure to let the kuzu boil for a while and thicken.

I served the meal with a pressure cooked rice/barley mixture with gomasio and quickly water-sauteed greens (curly cabbage and white cabbage with some salt and dried oregano to lightly flavour).

...

5 Comments

Filed under Complete meals, Recipes, Vegetable dishes

5 responses to “Cumin flavoured seitan and glazed sweet and sour beets

  1. Seitan isn’t recommended for me, but this seems perfect for those guys who need something heartier. Yay for you for water sauteing! I love it and it tends to be one of those cooking styles I don’t use very often. The greens have such great energy when cooked that way.

    • Not recommended because of the gluten? I love seitan, but I am going glutenfree again soon…just can´t handle gluten yet, I am afraid 😦

      • That’s a good question. Not the gluten. I tend toward a sluggish lymph system, dampness, earth element stuff. Maybe it’s as simple as that it’s too heavy and I need more upward, lighter energy. It’s a counselor recommendation. I hadn’t really thought a lot about it. It just made sense to me. My housemate makes a seitan dish I love with cippolini onions and shoyu over mashed root vegetables. Yum!

      • Well that´s exactly my condition too! So not eating any more seitan will do me good, have to keep reminding myself :-p Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

