The end of one little experimental blog

This is not an easy post to write as I feel that there are a lot of people following this blog, enjoying the recipes posted here and perhaps even impatiently awaiting new ones to appear in the future. And it´s not just my feeling – this blog actually has many followers and from time to time I bump into somebody that I don´t even know telling me that he or she likes my blog, which is really amazing and always hard to believe for me! That´s because this blog started as a very modest personal project, more of an online diary, which I founded mostly for the purpose of keeping track of my own “progress” in macrobiotic cooking and to store recipes that I come up with myself or that I read in a cookbook, on another blog etc. I was quite overwhelmed when I found out how many views it gets and how many people click on the like button, leave a comment or subscribe to the blog. It necessarily produces a sense of responsibility for the content and a wish to leave behind posts and recipes of good quality that people will enjoy reading and trying out on their own. I am very happy and grateful for all the positive feedback I have received in the two years of this blog´s existence.

However, everything that has a beginning, has an end – and that is very macrobiotic! Why? Because that´s the whole idea of yin and yang…everything changes, passes, turns into its opposite. Yes, I COULD have continued writing this blog for many many years I suppose, but inevitably one day I would have to “retire” 😉 That would just be a matter of time. I decided to quit after about two years for a good reason, though. That reason being – I am not currently following a diet that would fit into the macrobiotic model. I still had a lot of recipes from the previous months when I was still cooking in a macrobiotic style and I didn´t want to toss those recipes without publishing them, because I was quite sure that they could still benefit many readers, and me, too. And this IS, after all, my personal online cookbook as well! 😀

But when it comes to my own health and well-being, I was lately forced to make some significant tweaks, which means that my diet became very different than what it used to be. I don´t want to elaborate on the topic of my ongoing health issues, because that was never the purpose of this blog and I don´t wish to share them in public. But the truth is that my view of what kind of food pattern can be macrobiotic (in the widest sense of the word) changed so much, that I feel I don´t want to label myself this way anymore. The term “macrobiotics” is usually used in a much less wide manner, mostly describing a diet derived from the teachings of George Ohsawa, Michio Kushi and some other teachers. Very often the “standard macrobiotic diet” is used as a template, perhaps with many personal adjustments, but still within some given frame. If one gets very far from this frame, then why the need to still call yourself macrobiotic? As much as I LOVE the taste of  many “macrobiotic foods” and I love many aspects of the whole philosophy and lifestyle, the dietary template no longer served my health needs and I ventured into other realms of nutrition,  looking into ALL traditional diets and also some more modern interpretations of these diets. Yet, still firmly remaining in the world of NATURAL, chemical-free, (mostly) organic foods, of course! I think I will always stay convinced that anything that was produced in an industrial environment using several manmade ingredients, is detrimental to anybody´s health.

Maybe one day I will feel a need to set up a new blog again, but for now I am happy enough just experimenting with my cooking on my own, without the need to be sharing these experiments online 🙂 Once again, thanks for being with me… Much love, health and peace to all.

18 Comments

Filed under Macrotalk

18 responses to “The end of one little experimental blog

  1. Lisa

    Sorry for your ending so soon.

    Good luck with your health. I went to the Kushi Institute for 2 weeks this year and my health has improved immensely. I hope you find the best counselor for your needs.

    Lisa from Washington, DC

    • Thanks for the wishes. I think I have actually found one – myself 🙂 I went through a lot of counseling in the last two years and in a way all of it was a very valuable experience. But I have come to the conclusion that in the end it is only us, our own bodies, who can give the best nutritional advice.

  2. Isn’t one of the “goals” of macrobiotics to strengthen your own intuition and connection to natural law to the point where you transcend macrobiotics? So you guide your life and your health making daily adjustments? You as your own best guide sounds pretty macrobiotic to me. 🙂 I appreciate being a part of your journey. Best wishes. Love, Teresa

  3. Gail

    Thanks for sharing your macrobiotic experience for as long as you did. No one diet fits everyone, and our physical needs change as we age and genetic factors start showing up for us. I am still basically macrobiotic because it is what works for me, but I definitely make choices based on results, not based on a formula in a book.

  4. Lucie Tatransky

    Thanks for all the wonderful recipes and ideas! I really did enjoy following your blog and will miss it dearly. However, I absolutely understand your reasons and wish you all the best! Hope to actually meet in person one day 😉 Good luck!

  5. I discovered your blog just today as I am getting more interested in cooked vegan diet than raw and I’m sorry to hear that you’ve quit writing. I wish you all the best and thank you until now for your posts 🙂

  6. Congratulations for you brave attitude to admit a truth that most macrobiotic people are afraid to face or to admit. Congratulations for the courage to create and follow you own path. All the best, with love.

    Marianne

  7. Just finally catching up on my blog reading…this is big news! so happy for you and carving out your own path! Way to go!!! Sad for me though — your blog was so delightful and I’ve loved each post–will miss them dearly. Big hugs amd best of luck, sweet lady!!

  8. Hi, I just happened upon your beautiful blog and am just getting into this food lifestyle ( a few months). Before that, I was doing a Raw till 4 type of diet. For various reasons I switched, but I was wondering if you could say why you’ve stopped eating this way.
    Are you eating completely differently? Following a different “path” or “methodology” that works better? If so, I’d like to know what that is.
    I completely understand that you want your privacy, but I’m just curious and hoping it might be beneficial to others.
    Thanks!
    liss

  9. zdenka

    Hi, I’ve just come across your blog. There is a lot of inspiration here. Thanks!
    Please may I asked you more details about why you quit the macrobiotic way of eating? What was the problem and what were the changes you made? Are you feeling better now?
    I’m asking because me too, I’m hesitating what to do next. I still have some health issues and found out intolerance to some grains (including rice 😦 ).
    I know this is a personal question, so feel free not to answer. However I’d be very happy for your experience, e.g. via email.

Leave a comment