Angela´s Carrot apple ginger soup

Here goes another lovely recipe from Angela of Oh she glows – the Carrot apple ginger soup!

I made about half the amount the recipe calls for, and made some slight changes, so I used:

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, diced

half of a green garlic head (approximately 1 standard clove)

1 tbsp grated ginger

1 smaller apple, cut into cubes

300 g carrot, cut into cubes

2 cups water (instead of broth)

a pinch of nutmeg

sea salt and black pepper to taste

 

First I sauteed the diced onion on olive oil until it became golden, then I added grated ginger and minced garlic, sauteeing for a bit more, adding some water as needed. Then I tossed in cubes of apple and carrot, sauteeing on a low flame for a couple more minutes. I poured in two cups of water, covered the pot with a lid and simmered gently for about 20 minutes. I divided the soup in two halves and blended each half separarely in a blender until smooth (be careful, the blender must be just about half full, otherwise it will explode!). I thinned the soup with a bit of water (it was really thick!), added some salt, nutmeg and freshly cracked black pepper. The soup was like nothing I ever tasted, very creamy and carroty, with a subtle apple undertone. Next time I would use less ginger though, for me personally it was a bit overpowering 😀

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Soups

2 responses to “Angela´s Carrot apple ginger soup

  1. Apple and carrot and ginger… oh my!

    Love this combo, thanks for sharing!

  2. this looks great 🙂
    I really enjoy Angela’s blog too!
    Hope you’re having a fantastic week so far,

Leave a comment